Levels of visibility for Mediathread compositions

Compositions and assignments in Mediathread includes a number of options for keeping work private or making it visible.

As an instructor

- Anything you save on the draft level is only visible to yourself.
- Anything you save on the “Whole Class” level is visible to all students in the class, and appears in the “From Your Instructor” pane on the home page under the heading “INFORMATION”.
- Anything you save as an “Assignment” is also visible to all students in the class, and appears in the “From Your Instructor” pane on the home page under the heading “ASSIGNMENTS”.

As an instructor, you may may opt to enable a "Publish to the World" option for the course.  This is done in 'Course Settings" in the Instructors Dashboard.  If this is enabled:

- Anything you save on the "Publish to the World" level is visible to all students in the class, appears in the "From Your Instructor" pane on the home page under the heading "INFORMATION", and is also visible to anyone outside the course via a generated URL.  

For students

- If a composition or assignment response is saved as a draft, only its author(s) can access it.
- If an assignment response is saved as “Submitted to Instructor” , its author(s) and an instructor can access it.
- If a composition or assignment response is saved on the “Whole class” level, all other students in the course will be able to access it.

If your instructor has enabled the "Publish to the World" option:

- If a composition or assignment response is saved on the "Publish to the World" option, it is visible to everybody in the course as well as anyone outside the course via a generated URL.   Authentication-restricted media embedded within a composition, however, will *not* be visible to the public.

Instructor feedback on assignments

- No matter what level an assignment response is saved at, instructor feedback is only visible to the response’s author(s).

Feedback and Knowledge Base